HomeCurrent page

Division for Basic Planetary Materials Science

Masami Kanzaki (Professor) mkanzaki@okayama-u.ac.jp
Akio Makishima (Professor) max@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Takuo Okuchi (Associate Professor) okuchi@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Takuya Moriguti (Associate Professor) moriguti@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Shigeru Yamashita (Associate Professor) shigeru@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Daisuke Yamazaki (Associate Professor) dy@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Akira Yoneda* (Associate Professor) yoneda@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Takashi Yoshino (Associate Professor, Vice director) tyoshino@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp

*: retiring on March 31, 2019

To understand the internal structure and evolution of the Earth and planets via determination of the structure and physical properties of Earth and planetary materials using experimental and computational approaches. Toward that goal, researchers are being conducted in the development of ultra-high pressure generation technique, large-volume high pressure generation technique, high-temperature high-pressure in-situ physical properties measurement, understanding the basic physical processes via structural analysis of materials at the atomic level and first-principles calculation, and unravelling the inner structure of the planets and the evolutional process of the solar system by understanding meteorites and ice physicochemically.


Division for Planetary System

Eizo Nakamura (Professor) eizonak@okayama-u.ac.jp
Katsura Kobayashi (Professor) katsura@pheasant.misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Takuya Kunihiro (Associate Professor) tkk@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Hiroshi Kitagawa (Assistant Professor) kitagawa@pheasant.misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp

To understand the origin, evolution and dynamics of the Earth and planets by highly accurate/precise quantitative analysis, mass spectroscopic analysis and spectroscopic analysis of Earth and extraterrestrial materials. Toward that goal, development of state-of-the-art analytical methods and the construction of a “Comprehensive Analytical System for Terrestrial and Extraterrestrial Materials (CASTEM)” that link various apparatuses in a coordinated fashion have been made.


Division for Astrobiology

Xianyu Xue (Professor, Director) xianyu@okayama-u.ac.jp
Ryoji Tanaka (Professor) ryoji@misasa.okayama-u.ac.jp
Matthew Izawa (Assistant Professor) matthew_izawa@okayama-u.ac.jp

Cross-appointed Professors:

  • Professor Gray Bebout(Lehigh University, USA)
  • Professor Javier Martin-Torres(Lulea University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Professor Martin Van Kranendonk (University of New South Wales, Australia)

To investigate mineral–organic–fluid interactions, origin of life, and traces of primitive life in the solar system via both experimental and analytical approaches.


Menu

Design by Megapx  Template by s-hoshino.com
(C) IPM 2018